Annual meeting 2017 of the Erich-Gutenberg-Arbeitsgemeinschaft (EGA)

On December 1st and 2nd, the annual meeting of the Erich-Gutenberg-Arbeitsgemeinschaft Köln e.V. (EGA) took place at Excelsior Hotel Ernst in Cologne. This year’s topic of the meeting was “Digital Leadership”.

Initially, Prof. Dr. Kai-Ingo Voigt, president of the EGA, welcomed the participants and handed over to Prof. Achim Wambach, Ph.D., Chairman of the Monopolies Commission and President of the Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW) Mannheim, who gave the 3rd Erich-Gutenberg-Lecture on “Von Spendernieren zum Hochfrequenzhandel – Ökonomen gestalten Märkte neu”. After that, several prizes were awarded to outstanding academic works: Dr. Fritz Lehnen received the Erich-Gutenberg-Preis 2017 for linking business theory with corporate practice by Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Horst Albach, honorary member of the EGA. Mrs. Prof. Dr. Siham El Kihal from Frankfurt School of Finance & Management was rewarded with the Erich-Gutenberg-Preis for junior researchers in appreciation of her doctoral dissertation “Product Return Management in Online Retailing”. Mrs. Christina Hastreiter from Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich received the Dr. Dietrich-Fricke-Preis by the TENTE-foundation for the best student thesis.

After these ceremonies, the topic “Digital Leadership” was discussed with several renown guest speakers and experts from academia, politics, and corporate practice: Minister Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart, Prof. Dr. Herbert A. Henzler, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. August-Wilhelm Scheer, Prof. Dr. Guido Möllering, and Mr. Marc Wagner. Their presentations looked at the topic from different and inspiring perspectives and triggered intensive discussions with the enthusiastic audience.

The entire board of the EGA gives many thanks to all laudators, speakers, sponsors, members, and guests, which contributed to a highly successful annual meeting by their participation.